KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 4 December 2009.

PRESENT: Mr D L Brazier (Chairman), Miss S J Carey, Mrs V J Dagger, Mr D S Daley, Mr R J Parry and Mr R Tolputt

OFFICERS: Mr N Morgan (School Governance Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

14. Minutes - 9 October 2009 (*Item A3*)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 9 October 2009 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

15. LEA Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent (*Item B1*)

- (1) The Panel noted that the Managing Director of Children, Families and Education had taken the Urgent decision (in consultation with the Chairman) to backdate Mrs Henn-Macrae's appointment to the Governing Body of St Mark's CE School, Eccles to 18 December 2008. This was because her term of office should have been for three years but had been incorrectly registered as four years on the database.
- (2) The School Governance Officer informed the Panel that Mr M Coleman (Littlebourne CEP School), Dr J Gibley (St Stephen's Infant School, Canterbury) and Mrs S Cooke (Tunbridge Wells Girls' Grammar School) had confirmed their willingness to continue to serve. As they had all attended more than the required number of meetings during their previous terms, their re-appointments were confirmed.
- (3) The Panel also agreed to the re-appointment of Mr N Fawcett to the Governing Body of brook Community primary School, Ashford on the receipt of a supportive statement from the Chair of the Governing Body.
- (4) RESOLVED that the appointments of Local Authority Governors in Primary, Secondary, Special Schools and Pupil Referral Units be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.